deviations from pelican standard: 57 square, 43cm chainstays, room for rock n roads or 40's and fenders

deviations from pelican standard: 57 square, 43cm chainstays, room for rock n roads or 40’s and fenders

I have a couple/few pelicans, two of them are prototypes. The first prototype is from the first batch of test pelicans when Gabe of box dog first started the process of production pelicans for everyone and is and always was my townie. I ride that bike the most of any of my bikes. The second prototype is a 650b in 58 size. Originally pelicans only came in 650b in the small sizes but I got Gabe to make me a custom (and one for him) in larger size and got lightweight tubes in the bargain as well. That pelican is red.

front end

front end

I used to own the pelican that was tested in VBQ a while back but that has gone to a better home. I have some of the first pelicans made by Ahren Rodgers and I also have one of the last, a standard 650b 58 size pelican, which is just a frame at the moment so it takes up less room in my apartment and in my mind.

modified rivendell bag

modified rivendell bag – the rag is for wiping stuff off the wheel rims when I am riding

I guess I like pelicans a lot, enough so that I spent way too much money and got a titanium pelican built for me by Steve Potts. Steve is a nice guy, getting my bike from him took a couple years. I like my titanium pelican – perhaps a monster randonneur – quite a lot and it has surely filled the empty space in my rides when I got rid of the VBQ test pelican. In addition to a custom bike, I also got two custom front racks for this bike from Jim G. The first is made to order, and the second is a modified standard rack. I am very lucky to have Jim for a friend.

titanium pelican somewhere on mount vision

titanium pelican somewhere on mount vision

 

